Coaching versus Recruiter

• 40 replies

Coaching versus Recruiter
« on: September 13, 2014, 06:18:19 PM »
At no point should anybody take this post as complaining, I am just making an observation about Little League baseball, and was curious if anybody saw it they way I did.

I have been coaching a team for about 3 years now, and each year I have lost players to other teams because of the coach stealing the players, and making promises they can't keep. Which brings me to my point.

Some guys are out there really putting the time in to coach and teach the game of baseball, and then there is guys out there, that instead of coaching up the players they have, they go around and search out the parents of the good players and get them to switch teams, which has left me looking to re-stock my team. I find it frustrating, but at the same time, I feel a sense of accomplishment, in the last 2 years I have lost 5 players to AAA teams. But hoping one day I will field a team of 12 decent players so I can have the feeling of playing in tournaments and going deep in those and winning and playing lots of baseball. Instead each year I find myself with about 7 good kids and the talent level drops off after that leaving me with a team that is between A and AA. It would be nice if some of these guys that coach teams would learn how to coach, instead of stealing other teams kids...............Anybody can coach 12 kids that know how to play baseball, it takes a real coach to take 6-12 raw kids and develop them into players.........Just my thoughts

Re: Coaching versus Recruiter
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2014, 11:24:04 AM »